SCC Foundation Awards Over $80,000 in Scholarships to Students for 2018-2019

Article by: 
View article as it appears on

The Spartanburg Community College Foundation has awarded more than $80,000 in private scholarships to 53 students for the 2018-2019 academic year. "Awarding scholarships is one of the most worthwhile efforts of the Foundation as it gives us an opportunity to directly impact a student and their educational journey," explains Bea Walters Smith, executive director of Advancement and the SCC Foundation.

"Thanks to the generosity of donors and many supporters, the SCC Foundation scholarship program is evolving."

The on-line scholarship application ( is accepted January 1 thru June 30 each year and awards are made in August for the upcoming academic year. Each of the named scholarships listed have specific criteria that help in the awarding process. "The SCC Foundation has raised private dollars over the years to establish a variety of scholarships designated to specific academic areas as well as general scholarships and emergency funds to assist students with one-time emergency needs," adds Smith.

Congratulations to the following SCC students who have been awarded scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year:

Wil Myers Scholarship
Vincent Meeks, Spartanburg

HVAC Scholarship

Daquan Sartor, Spartanburg
Renard Steadman, Spartanburg
Austin Wilson, Spartanburg
John B. White Scholarship
Silas Henderson, Woodruff
Debra Ann Kay Memorial Scholarship
Katrina Gragg, Greer
Phillip Logay, Boiling Springs

Chris Duerksen Memorial Scholarship
Renika Clark, Spartanburg
Lakesha Williams, Spartanburg

Spartanburg Lions Club
Karon Madison, Spartanburg
Cameo McCarroll, Spartanburg

Shirley M. Tillotson Memorial Scholarship
Ashley Hicklin, Spartanburg

Todd Reynolds Memorial, Chesnee High School Memorial Scholarship
Zachery Henson, Chesnee

Foster & Ruth Gray Chapman Single Parent Achievement Award
Chasity Lyles-Norman, Spartanburg
Deveney Littlejohn, Inman
Ashley Williamson, Gaffney
Austin Sierra, Spartanburg
Cassandra Williams, Woodruff
Faeren Drennen, Greer
Kayla Burris, Spartanburg

John C. Johnson Memorial Scholarship
Lydia Thompson, Spartanburg

J M Smith QS/1 Scholarship
Allison Crocker, Moore
Allison Henderson, Gaffney
Taylor Lowery, Gaffney
Angel Pennington, Gaffney

Rebecca Phothong, Spartanburg
Somaly Tough, Inman

Caroline Ragsdale Reutter Memorial Scholarship for Culinary Arts
Hannah Acrey, Gaffney

Workman Cantrell Memorial Scholarship for Culinary Arts
Kerry Bowden, Woodruff
Katina Pruitt, Chesnee

Wallace Eppes Johnson Curriculum Enhancement Scholarship
Candace Logan, Spartanburg

Spartanburg County Medical Society Health Careers
May Traylor, Spartanburg

The Jean Miller McAbee Memorial Scholarship for Horticulture
Alaina Langner, Greenville
Emily Kishbaugh, Spartanburg

The Jimmy Painter Horticulture Scholarship
Harris Vaughan, Rock Hill
William Price, Kinards
Phillip Schwerin, Fort Mill
Jordan Owens, Belton
Meaghan Cleary, Mauldin
David Driggers, Gray Court
Stephen Rodgers, Greenville
Crossland Bryant, Martinez, GA
Caleb Barnes, Easley
William Ivey, Union

Radiation Protection- Utley Scholarship
Sunshine Chandler, Gaffney

SSS Management/Duer Coil Scholarship
Corey Rice, Spartanburg
Jasmine Scurry, Boiling Springs
James Scurry, Boiling Springs
Shaneese Jeter, Spartanburg
Senjeur Dorcely, Inman

SCC General Scholarships
William Gregg, Spartanburg

Water Environment Association of SC
Anthony LeCog, Woodruff

Economic Visionaries Honorarium Scholarship for Amy Wood
Jayla Twitty, Landrum

Economic Visionaries Honorarium Scholarship for Lynn Good
Timari Dawkins, Spartanburg

Related Stories

More News