SCC Foundation elections announced

Article by: Cheri Anderson-Hucks | SCC

View story as it appears on

The Spartanburg Community College Foundation recently elected new members and executive committee officers to the board of directors. Established in 1983, the SCC Foundation exists to seek private and public resources to support the needs of students, faculty and staff of Spartanburg Community College.

"The SCC Foundation could not operate without the dedicated service of the 22 community leaders who selflessly give their time and talents to further our mission of assisting the college," explains Bea Walters Smith, SCC's executive director of Advancement and the Foundation. "These men and women are talented individuals who bring years of professional expertise with the goal of helping our students, faculty and staff to ensure our Foundation seeks private and public resources to fulfill our mission and vision."

The following individuals were elected to serve on the executive committee for a one-year term (July 2018-June 2019):
Chair - Linda S. Hannon, Duke Energy
Vice Chair - Kathy Sinclair, Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System
Treasurer - Warren Snead, Cooper Standard
Secretary - Clarence Batts, Community Volunteer

Newly elected individuals to the board, who will serve a three-year term (July 2018-June 2021), include the following:
John C. Nelson, Spartanburg Steel, Spartanburg
Loretta Grna, Kohler, Spartanburg
Tray Ballenger, Henkel Corporation, Spartanburg
Charles "Gene" Jackson, Spartanburg Water, Spartanburg
Maria Puckett, BMW, Spartanburg
Carlotta Redish, Spartanburg School District 7, Gaffney
Pamela Garner Sloss, SC Department of Corrections, Union
Returning board members include the following:
Dr. Charles Fogarty, Spartanburg Medical Research, Spartanburg
Wallace E. Johnson, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg
Paul Lehner, Leigh Fibers, Inc, Wellford
Dr. Peter Moore, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg
John McGinnis, Roebuck Wholesale Nursery, Roebuck
Rev. J. W. Sanders, Jr., Bethel Baptist Church, Gaffney
Martha "Sissy" Brock, Community Volunteer, Gaffney
Charlotte "Cha" Gee, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg
Grant Burns, AFL Telecommunications, Spartanburg
John Robbins, The Timken Co., Union
Joe Hines, Santuc Precision
Smith adds, "We owe a heartfelt thank you to members who are rotating off the board this year. They have provided invaluable leadership and service and for that we are grateful." Retiring members include the following:
Shirley M. Howell, Community Volunteer, Woodruff
William Mayrose, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg
Ronald Murray, Community Volunteer, Spartanburg
Sara Robinson, McMillan Pazdan Smith Architecture, Spartanburg
Dr. Diane Vecchio, Furman University, Greenville

Photos of SCC Foundation Board of Director members are available for download at the following link:

For more information on the SCC Foundation and additional giving opportunities, contact Bea Walters Smith at, (864) 592-4448 or visit

Related Stories

More News